Journey into teaching

img_0954-1I am still new to blogging, I guess that is because I am never sure about writing about myself in general or what to write. However, when I look back at my journey going into the teaching world, I realised how hard I have worked to be where I am now.

Working for Vauxhall for pretty much 10 years as a customer service and IT consultant, I really enjoyed my job and the people around me but over the years I seemed to want to do something different. I started a degree back in 2008 and just thought I would try out a course on building websites with the Open University – so after getting a distinction, I ended up getting the study bug! I carried on with more courses and learning new geeky things with like minded people. After 5 years to complete a degree with honours I had an amazing experience, especially as all my courses were very much computer science related.

So how did I get into teaching? I was asked by a very good friend of mine who I worked with “would you come and show my son how to build a website?” of course I said yes! After the evening of showing her son how to do this, she said to me the next day “he loved the lesson you did, wont stop talking about it!” and then said “you should be teacher!”

So I took the plunge! Did some voluntary work in a primary school then managed to get a job in a school as an LSA for Computing. I started out supporting children in the ICT lessons then went on to teaching them. After 3 years in the school, I then went on to work in a college as a tutor. Teaching young adults (16 +) who struggled in ICT and managed to start my teacher training course at the same time in the college.

Students developed their skills and were passing their ICT exams, students were telling me they loved my lessons and said they felt so confident in the subject. This always made my day! I must have a made a good impression. Now after two years, mountains of observations, assignment writing and plenty of stress! I am a qualified teacher.

Getting this far has not been an easy ride, I have had to overcome barriers not just through learning in the educational world but developing confidence and skills I never thought I would have to adapt! I had to study hard, persevere but it is all worth it! Completing teacher training however does not make you a finished product. You have to continue to work hard, collaborate with other teachers and continue with professional development. There will be days when you think am I making a difference? but you have to continue.

I love teaching, it is the best job in the world. Helping students to succeed is the greatest achievement of all.

